top of page

DHC Deep Cleansing Oil Review


Beauty

The first step to Korean skincare is to remove your makeup using a cleansing oil, although there are many on the market, its always good to know which are cult favourites, work for your skin type and are the best! The DHC Cleansing oil has been around for quite a while, and has received a lot of hype in, especially in Japan.

For more on Korean Skincare, Click Here!

 

The cleansing oil retails in 70ml to 200ml for approx. 35aud for the 200ml. I've been wanting to get my hands on this for a while now, and after my trip to Beijing, I found it to be on sale at Watsons. Taking this chance (cuz you know I'm cheap like that), I picked it up to test and also because I was in need of a new makeup remover. DHC Deep Cleansing Oil makeup remover claims to completely dissolves all traces of dirt and cosmetics — even waterproof mascara and eyeliner — while nourishing your complexion with antioxidant-rich olive oil.

  • In a clinical study, 92% of participants agreed Deep Cleansing Oil worked better than a leading cleanser at removing complexion makeup

  • Unique water-soluble formula rinses thoroughly

  • Rich in vitamins and antioxidants

  • Nourishes and hydrates for younger-looking skin

  • 1 is sold every 10 seconds worldwide

FIRST IMPRESSIONS

The oil itself, actually looks like olive oil. Not that it’s a bad thing but definitely the first thing I noticed. The texture is typical of any cleansing oil, running just a little thicker. The scent however, I'm not the biggest fan of, it smells quite heavily of olive oil (what a surprise). I guess that shows the product is quite natural. Overall the scent doesn’t bother me too much.

Applying the oil to my skin felt really smooth and I felt like the product was really working, and massaging my skin helped fasten the removal of the makeup. You can see the foundation almost separating and decomposing (if that’s the right word XD) which is highly satisfying. I must say a little goes a long way and you only need one pump for your entire face, unless you're wearing really waterproof and heavy eye makeup.

This is a cleansing oil where you need to emulsify your skin with warm water after just to make sure there's no oily film left behind on your face after washing. It leaves the skin very soft and moisturized. It definitely didn’t strip my skin leaving it tight, which I quite like. Overall, it removed pretty much all of my makeup, even my waterproof mascara (Covergirl Lashblast Waterproof for reference) which I'm pretty impressed with.

TEST

Here's a test I did with the oil, to show the real effects removing makeup. I used the most waterproof and most difficult products I believe to remove. Left to Right: Cilo All Kill Waterproof Brush Liner, Tony Moly Delight Tony Tint, Rimmel Exaggerate Waterproof Eye Definer and as you can see, the cleansing removed nearly all of the two liners, but however still left a stain with the lip tint, which is completely normal as it is suppose to "tint".

FINAL THOUGHTS

I absolutely recommend this cleansing oil and understand the hype. The cleanser is able to remove even the most stubborn makeup without too much trouble. It also doesn’t leave you skin feeling oily or dry, but nicely hydrated and smooth. Another big factor, is that using it for the past week or so now, IT DOESN'T BREAK ME OUT! Which for me is a big thing, since previously my skin has had issues with oil cleanser with are way too harsh and leave that oily film on the skin that causes me breakouts. I finally do understand the hype its been getting and it really does deserve. This I think could be my new holy grail! I give this oil cleanser a 4.5/5!!

 

Thank you for reading! Be sure to subscribe to our mailing list to get updated on everything beauty at BeautyIA.

Edited by Jessica

never miss a thing

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page