top of page

Skinfood Royal Honey Propolis Essence Review


Skinfood Royal Honey Propolis Essence Review

Sometime ago, we luckily received a package from Earlypicker, an online Korean cosmetics store which is known for selling the hottest and trendiest brand & products in Korea with reasonable prices as well as having time sales. Their packages also come with a special sample pouch. They were kind enough to send us a couple of products for the Beautyia team to try out, and so I tried out the Royal Honey Propolis Essence by Skinfood as I felt that I needed more moisture on my skin. Keep an eye out for the rest of our Earlypicker reviews!

The Product

According to the product description the Propolis Essence has 50% Black Bee Propolis extract, 20% Royal Jelly extract and 10% Royal Black Honey extract and is a powerful essence that keeps skin protected and moist, for the most supple, radiant skin. This essence is best used after applying a toner by pumping out a pearl-sized amount and gently apply it over your entire face, and allowing it to absorb. But is it really?

First impressions

The essence uses a dropper which is activated when you twist open the lid as a compartment pops up. In the photo you can see that I have used up quite a lot of the product since the essence is great for moisturising your skin in both the morning and night; I also have sensitive skin which reacts with some serums and essences which leave me uncomfortable through the night however the essence didn't react with my skin and had a cooling effect to it. My cheeks are especially dry so I tend to apply more product there yet the skin absorbs the essence quite fast, patting the product in seems to help absorb it in faster. Since it absorbs relatively fast I like to apply a few layers before I sleep so it can absorb overnight and let it trap in the moisture throughout the night.

However the clear essence is extremely watery, as opposed to my initial belief that it would be thick since it is a 'propolis' essence. The essence is really best for just hydrating your skin and giving you a healthy glow, but there are tons of products in the market for cheaper if you're looking for a moisturiser as this propolis essence is approximately $20 depending on the site you shop on. I'm also not a fan of the slight scent it first gives off, which is close to the smell of a permanent marker however the smell goes away after a while.

Conclusion

To conclude, I personally feel that $20 for a nicely packaged bottle of essence that only provides good moisturising is quite expensive in comparison to tub of QV or Vaseline, which essentially provides a similar amount of hydration to the skin. It was also quite disappointing when I realised the texture of this essence was not thick like honey but watery. However, the essence is great for creating a healthy glow to the skin and absorbs well into the skin.

Therefore I would recommend this to those who have dry skin but there are definitely products which do the same thing for a much lower price, otherwise I generally wouldn't recommend this propolis essence.

I rate SKINFOOD's Royal Honey Propolis Essence a borderline 3/5

However if you are interesting in buying this product, you can purchase this here.

 

Thank you for reading! Be sure to subscribe to our mailing list to get updated on everything beauty at BeautyIA, and look out for the next of our team's Earlypicker reviews.

never miss a thing

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page